Our Lady of Lourdes

A Redemptorist Fathers, Roman Catholic Church 
Seaford, Delaware


Parish Council

There are currently nine elected and one appointed member on the Council plus six Ex-Officio members: the Pastor, Associate Pastor, the two Deacons, the Director of Religious Education and the Office Manager.The members and their terms of office plus bio-sketches of the elected and/or appointed members are shown below.

The Parish Council’s primary objective is “to encourage full participation of the members of Our Lady of Lourdes”. It does this by acting as an advisor to the Pastor and by representing the parishioners and speaking and acting for them. The Council also serves as a liaison to the ministries and other organizations that function within Our Lady of Lourdes and serves as their advocate.

The Council meets the third Monday of every month from 7 to 8 PM in the church basement (CCD classroom) but most of its work will be done outside the meeting. In the summer months they meet to orient new members and also to conduct strategic planning for the upcoming year. 

Parish Council Members (as of June, 2016):
Jean Edwards / Executive Officer *
Barbara Reed / Secretary *                             

Parish Council:
Fr. Clement Vadakkedath, C.Ss.R., Pastor
Fr. Paul Kuzhimannil, C.Ss.R., Associate Pastor
Deacon Jim Mueller
Deacon Axel Blanco
DRE. Debbie Depta
Office Mgr. Lynn Amaty
Claudia Alcantara *                                                   
Tita Gontang *
Sharon Hamblin *                                           
Rose Marie Hart *                                            
Fred Silva *
Anthony Terracciano *
Joe Woodhead *
Matthew Zoller *

*Elected / Appointed, Members (*Council & Officer elections are held annually)

To send email to any council member (send to Parish Office & it will be forwarded)

You are welcome to review the minutes of Parish Council meetings .................................. CLICK HERE
Meeting summaries / minutes are updated after approval.

To review the Parish Council's bylaws (new bylaws adopted 8/15/14) ................................Available soon

Keep up to date with your Council with Parish Council Corner ........................................... CLICK HERE

Parish Council, (Elected / Appointed) Member Bios:

Claudia Alcantara (2016 – 2017) moved to Bridgeville from her home country, Mexico, 23 years ago. She has been a member of the Parish since then. She lives in Bridgeville with her family. Claudia is a Eucharistic Minister, Lead Lector, and the Treasurer of our John XXIII Group. She represents the Parish in the Diocese Hispanic Ministry and is a member of Our Lady of Tears Rosary Maker Hispanic Group and the Parish Hall Committee. She received her BS in Accounting from Wilmington University in 2008. She works in Accounting at Anchor Enterprises in Blades. She has 2 sons, 1 daughter, and 3 grandchildren.

Jean Edwards (2015 - 2018) has been a member of Our Lady of Lourdes since 2008 and joined the Parish Council in 2012. She is a Eucharistic Minister for Mass and the Pastoral Care Ministry. She instituted both the Singles and Outreach Ministries in the parish. Jean was born in Southern Maryland and received her BA from Washington College and her MS from University of Maryland and had careers in social work and health care management. She lives in Laurel, DE. She has 3 children, 5 grandchildren and 3 great grandsons. She served as Executive Officer in 2015 and was re-elected in 2016. 

Tita Gontang (2015 – 2018) lives in Seaford with her husband, Jose. They have been parishioners at Our Lady of Lourdes for over 30 years. Tita is a Eucharistic Minister, taking the Eucharist to the sick at the hospital and also serving during the Liturgy. She is a wife, mother and grandmother. She joined the Council in 2015.

Sharon Hamblin (2014 – 2017) was born in Salisbury and raised in Mardela; she joined Our Lady of Lourdes is 2009. She is a Registered Nurse and currently does Pediatric Home Health. She is chairman of Our Lady of Lourdes’s Liturgy Committee and is a member of the Legion of Mary Auxiliary. She is also a Eucharistic Minister, Pastoral Care Minister and Lector and has been a member of the Parish Council since 2011. She lives in Laurel.Rose Marie Hart (2014 – 2017) was born in Boise, Idaho in 1940 and married Pat Hart in 1964.  She holds a BA in English.  She taught CCD in Idaho and Colorado and in Catholic schools in Colorado and Pennsylvania for 12 years.  The last 21 years of her working life she was the Director of Training and Development for the American Red Cross in Philadelphia. Since moving to Laurel, DE in 2013, she has taught 7th grade CCD at Our Lady of Lourdes. She is a member of Pastoral Care ministry and is enrolled in the Bible study course. She joined the Parish Council in 2014.

Barbara Reed (2016 – 2019) joined Our Lady of Lourdes in 2010 when she and her husband moved to Heritage Shores. They have 6 children, 8 grandchildren and 2 great grandsons.  Starting as a money counter, she was then recertified as a Eucharistic Minister and joined Our Lady of Lourdes Pastoral Care team.  She was elected to the Parish Council in 2013 and re-elected in 2016; she served as Secretary in 2015 and was re-elected for a second term for 2016.   She feels blessed to be able to worship and work with so many wonderful, dedicated, and inspiring people in this parish. 

Fred Silva (2014 - 2017) graduated from Western Michigan University (B.A.) and Brown University (M.A.).  He served four years in the US Air Force and 25 years with the U.S. Foreign Service in Guatemala, Ecuador, Chile, Washington, DC, Colombia, SA, Costa Rica and Spain.  Upon retiring from the Foreign Service, he taught Spanish at University of Maryland, Eastern Shore and Salisbury University.  His next career was in business and manufacturing at MATech, Inc, in Salisbury where he served as Quality Control Director and ISO Representative.  Currently, Fred serves as Vice Chairman of the Sussex County Republican Party.  He and his wife, Annette, live in Seaford. Fred was elected to the Parish Council in 2014. Hobbies: studying history, political theory and theology.  He is an avid woodworker and gardener.

Anthony Terracciano (2016 – 2019) hailed from Queens, NY and lived the last 30 years in New Jersey where he and his wife were parishioners at St. Luke's parish. He has a BBA in Accounting from Pace University and spent his career at JPMorgan Chase and AIG in their respective Controller Departments.   He and his wife of 43 years, Joanne, are both retired and moved to Bridgeville in June 2014 and joined Our Lady of Lourdes parish. He is a Eucharistic Minister for the Pastoral Care Ministry and the Liturgy, a Lector and a Third Degree member of the Knights of Columbus.

Joe Woodhead (2015 – 2018) has been a member of Our Lady of Lourdes since 1969 and joined the Parish Council in 2015. He was a member two previous times. He has been a lector for 25 years and Eucharistic Minister for 17. He is a retired Veterinarian and has been married to his wife, Reb, for 57 years. They live in Seaford; they have 5 children, 13 grandchildren and 2 great grandchildren.

Matthew Zoller (2016 – 2019) has been attending Our Lady of Lourdes since birth and very early on became active with the Youth Ministry, working at the Lenten fish fries, serving on the altar and most currently playing guitar for Mass. He helps teach first grade CCD class and assists during youth masses. He is currently a student at Wilmington University, pursuing a Bachelor’s degree in business management. He also works for the University of Delaware as a field researcher, studying chemical processes of eliminating weeds from fields of crops.